University Grading System in Australia: Your Essential Guide

5 minutes reading time (998 words)
University Grading System in Australia: Your Essential Guide

University grading system varies across countries. If you are an international student in Australia and have completed a course already, you must have observed a difference in the grading system between your home country and Australia.

But, you may want to note that the grading system is not the same across Australia. Being a vast country, each of its states has its own system of grading. So, if you are planning to do your next course in another state or from a different university in Australia, take a look at the following tables.

The basic grading scale looks like this for most universities in Australia. However, based on which university you study in and which state it is in, the grading system may slightly differ. 

For Undergraduate and Postgraduate courses

Grade  Grade description Grade scale %GPA
HD High Distinction 100 - 85 A+
DDistinction84 - 75A
CCredit74 - 65B
PPass64 - 50C
FFail49 and belowF

For Honours Degree

Grade Grade description Grade scale %
H1H1 First Class Honours 100 - 80
H2ASecond Class Honours79 - 75
H2BSecond Class Honours74 - 70
H3Third Class Honours69 - 65
PPass64 - 50
NFail49 and below

For Vocational and Trade Courses

Grading for vocational courses is binary. You either pass by achieving the required competency or fail.

Grade Grade description Grade scale %
C/S Competent/Satisfactory 100%
NYC/NSNot Yet Competent/Not Yet Satisfactory0

Grading System Across the Australian States

Each Australian state is home to a handful of world-class universities. Due to their diversity and needs, they follow their own, unique grading system.

 Australian Capital Territory

University of Canberra, Australian National University, Charles Sturt University, UNSW Canberra, Australian Catholic University are the notable institutions in the capital territory and here is their grading system.

Grade Grade description Grade scale %
A Extremely High Standard of Achievement 100 - 85
BHigh Standard of Achievement84 - 70
CAcceptable Standard of Achievement69 - 50
DLimited Standard of Achievement49 - 25
EVery Limited Performance24 - 0

New South Wales

The east coast state, New South Wales, houses the University of New South Wales, University of Sydney, University of Newcastle, Macquarie University and La Trobe University.

Grade Grade description Grade scale %
A High Distinction 100 - 85
BDistinction84 - 70
CCredit69 - 50
DPass49 - 25
EFail24 - 0

Northern Territory

With Darwin as the capital city, this beautiful state of Australia has Charles Darwin University and Flinders University to its name.

Grade Scale 1 Scale 2
A 5 17 - 20
B4 - 4.9914 - 16.99
C3 - 3.9911 - 13.99
D2 - 2.998 - 10.99
E1 - 1.990 - 7.99


The second-largest state of Australia takes pride in being home to some of the renowned institutions such as the University of Queensland, Bond University, Griffith University and James Cook University.

Grade Grade description Grade scale %
HD High Distinction 7
DDistinction6 - 6.99
CCredit5 - 5.99
PPass4 - 4.99
FFail1 - 3.99

South Australia

South Australia is a wildlife haven of the continent and home to Kangaroo Island. The state has the University of South Australia, University of Adelaide, Torrens University, to name a few.

Grade Grade Name Grade Scale %
HD High Distinction 85 -100
DDistinction75 - 84
CCredit65- 74
P1Pass Level 155 - 64
P2Pass Level 250 - 54
F1Fail Level 140 - 49
F2Fail Level 230 - 39


Tasmania is an island state known for its richest history and the cleanest air in the world. The University of Tasmania is the only university in the state.

Grade Grade description Grade scale %
EA Excellent Achievement 4.00
HAHigh Achievement3.50 - 3.99
CACommendable Achievement3.00 - 3.49
SASatisfactory Achievement2.50 - 2.99
PAPreliminary Performance2.00 - 2.49


With Melbourne as capital, this industrious state of Australia features some of the best government and private universities in the country: Monash University, RMIT, Swinburne University, Deakin, University of Melbourne, Victoria University etc

Code Grade Mark
HD High Distinction 80-100

Before you join your next course, research your favourite universities, understand their grading systems. Also, check the university website to find if the grading system has gone through any change or update.

Talk to our counsellors if you need further support in the research of your next course and university.


What are the common grade scales used in Australian universities?

Australian universities typically use either a letter grade system (HD for High Distinction, D for Distinction, C for Credit, P for Pass, and F for Fail) or a numerical scale (usually from 0 to 100). Some institutions may use a combination of both depending on the course or faculty. 

How is a GPA calculated in Australian universities?

GPA in Australia is calculated on a scale from 0 to 7, with 7 being the highest. Each grade, from Fail to High Distinction, is assigned a numerical value which is then averaged across your units of study to calculate your GPA. 

Does the grading system vary between different states or types of courses in Australia?

Yes, there can be variations in the grading system between different states and even between universities within the same state. Additionally, vocational and trade courses may have different grading assessments compared to tertiary and higher education courses. 



Let's get social.

Copyright © 2024 aecc. Useful Links | Glossary | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy

Floating Buttons

Speak to UsLine ChatEvent Registration